How to Turn Impressions into Clicks - 10 Tips

Every marketer wants to convert ad impressions into clicks. However, persuading users to click on a post can be challenging. Amidst the ongoing digital transformation, drawing attention to your brand ad is a huge challenge, as people are exposed to thousands of ads daily.
In this blog, we will learn how to turn impressions into clicks in detail. Before that, we must clear the meaning of clicks and impressions to understand the blog perfectly.
What are impressions?
Impressions occur when users see the ad on search engines, websites, or social media. The total number of times the users view an ad without any interaction is the impression count. This is a useful metric for understanding the ad's exposure and reach.
What are clicks?
Click occurs when the users engage with the ad by tapping on any available options such as CTA, link, image, etc. It shows the number of times users expand the ad to know more, download an app, or place an order. It is a valuable metric for tracking user engagement on the ad post.
Impression vs Clicks
| Parameters | Impressions | Clicks | | :------------: | :--------------------------------------------------------------: | :---------------------------------------------------------: | | Definition | Number of times the ad is shown | Number of clicks on the ad | | Focus On | Visibility of the ad | Engagement in the ad | | Goal | Brand Awareness | Engagement and Consideration | | Measure | Cost per Mille (CPM) | Cost Per Click (CPC) | | Example | If an ad is shown 2000 times, it is counted as 2000 impressions. | If an ad is clicked 100 times, it is counted as 100 clicks. |
As we learned, the metrics of impression and click serve to monitor its reach and efficacy, respectively. The first is a form of passive engagement, and the latter is active engagement.
A new metric that combines these two measures the effectiveness of the ad, i.e.,
- CTR (Click-through Rate) = Number of Clicks/Number of Impressions x 100
In the above example from the table,
- CTR = 100/2000 X 100 = 5%
What’s a good click-to-impression ratio?
A good click-to-impression ratio, or CTR, suggests how often people click on the ad after viewing it. As per WebFX, the average CTR for search ads is 3.17% and display ads are 0.46% across all industries, which means if the ad is viewed 1000 times, it gets an average number of 32 clicks for search ads and 5 clicks for display ads.
There is always a scope for improvement, so we can learn ways and tips to increase the number of clicks and CTR rate by using some expert tips.
10 Tips to Turn Impressions into Clicks
1. Clear Ad Objective
- We often make the mistake of creating ads that just promote the product/service; this doesn’t add much value to customers. Instead, create ads that have a value proposition for customers, such as information, benefits, or use cases.
- The ad should be following the campaign objective. The idea behind the ad must be brainstormed and discussed before putting it up. It should align with the brand image and the campaign’s end goal.
2. CTA Research
- Use buttons that invoke some immediate action, such as reserve your seat, claim offer, and book free demo, from the users. The CTA should be clearly visible and placed correctly in the suitable color and font size.
- Use CTA as per the ad goal; according to the IAB’s report on CTAs in Mobile Shoppable ads, LEARN MORE and SHOP NOW CTAs work the best. Users are keen to know more about the product/service before making any decision.
3. Engaging Titles and Descriptions
- The headlines should be short and straightforward. Use keywords or search queries relevant to the ad.
- The description should include benefits and limited-time offers to create a sense of urgency to entice them to click the ad.
- Words have the power to influence people. Write the ad copy with an emotional and psychological appeal, keeping this in mind. Engage them with humor, memes, emojis, or FOMO elements that increase the chance of them clicking on the ad.
4. Appealing Images/Videos
- It is recommended to use eye-catching images with a minimum of text on the image you choose for the ad display.
- Around 17% of people are more likely to purchase a good or service after watching a video advertisement than after viewing a static image ad.
5. Add Interactivity
- Use rich media, animations, polls, and other interactive elements in the ad to prompt users to click. Adding interactivity pushes users to engage with the ad, which in turn generates a happening ad experience for them.
- Ads that offer delightful experiences through culminating features, tours, 360-degree views, and trailers gain more traction and engagement.
- The use of AR/VR and chatbots provides an immersive ad experience to the users that has the potential to turn the impression into a click.
Know how to increase ad engagement with proven strategies here.
6. Audience Selection
- Targeting the right audience is pivotal for any social media campaign. Create different segments that cater to specific audience groups as per their demographics, interests, buying behavior, or more.
- Leverage retargeting to get more clicks on the ad. Target those audience segments who have already interacted with the website or social channels. Retargeting increases the chances of clicks three times more.
7. Ad Format and Placement
- Choosing the correct ad format is the key to getting more clicks on the ad post. Video and carousel ads boost more engagement than static ads.
- Ads need to be placed on the platform where the core customers are present. For instance, choose LinkedIn for B2B ads and Instagram for promoting B2C eCommerce brands.
- Make use of native ads that mix in perfectly with the webpage content. These kinds of advertisements typically feel more organic and are less obtrusive, which increases the chance of clicks.
- Ads must be created responsive for all devices, especially mobile devices. The ad and landing page experience for mobile devices must be smooth to attract customers repeatedly.
8. Ad personalization using AI
- The more advanced artificial intelligence gets, the more customized advertisements will be for each person. AI can deliver relevant ads by creating buyer personas in real-time. Beyond merely targeting, this degree of personalization involves modifying the ad creatives (images, videos, and text) to appeal to the user's interests and mind.
9. Announce Offers and Discounts
- Provide good deals on the products and services ads to persuade users to click the ad. Create ad copies with a discount code and sales information that can make them tap the CTA button.
- It’s a good practice to offer some incentives like free trials, downloads, or samples to motivate customers to engage. Everyone loves a good deal!
10. Be Consistent
- Ensure that the ad is in sync with the voice, tone, and identity of the brand. Ads from well-known and reliable businesses have a higher chance of getting clicked on by users.
- Users who have already seen your brand or product might be more likely to click on your ads. Consistent branding throughout your advertising campaigns can boost CTR and recognition.
Bonus tips to convert impressions into clicks
1. Google Ads
- Utilizing smart bidding with broad match keywords and responsive search ads improves campaign performance in terms of getting more clicks and conversions. The ads get customized as per the users’ search queries and show the most relevant ad to them.
- Using site links and ad extensions increases the chance of ads getting clicked more. They offer more website pages to the users that provide more opportunities to click.
- For Google display and video ads, it’s highly recommended to incorporate interactive ads that entail a full product or service walk-through. The more the ad provides value, the more it is going to be clicked.
2. Social Media Ads
- Facebook advertising offers Advantage+ Creative features to improve ad efficacy. It automatically generates several ad variations and presents a personalized version to each individual based on their interaction history.
- The best way to turn impressions into clicks is by showcasing product reviews and testimonial ads to the targeted customers. Positive reviews help them make choices easily; they motivate them to click on the ad to try the offering.
We learned the 10 most effective ways to convert impressions into clicks, along with two bonus tips. The bottom line is that ads that foster engagement and interactivity get clicked more often. They provide customers with an opportunity to communicate with the brand.
How does KappaX help you convert impressions into clicks?
Kappax creates an interactive digital ad experience that is aesthetically pleasing, extremely relevant to your target demographics, and includes engaging elements in the form of quizzes, calculators, tours, trailers, and short videos that encourage clicking.
You can increase the likelihood that impressions will become clicks by continuously testing, improving, and tailoring your ad creatives using personalization. The KappaX platform is beginner-friendly, comes with a tutorial guide, and offers a free demo. Join us and create ads that improve your visibility and convert like magic!
Wrapping it up
You can increase interaction, make your ads more interesting, and eventually convert impressions into clicks by putting these smart tips into practice. The objective is to provide consumers with a smooth, worthwhile, and relevant experience in order to motivate them to act.
Making the ad more appealing, being clever with your approach, and making sure that the transition from the ad to the landing page or conversion route is smooth are all very crucial. You can enhance the effectiveness of your advertisements and increase clicks by consistently testing and refining your campaigns, which will ultimately result in better business outcomes.